Security | April 21, 2017

Understanding the stages of a cyber attack

The “kill chain”, typically used in military terms lays out the stages of a cyber attack.

It starts with early reconnaissance to completing the attack with the goal of data theft and enabling more attacks.

These stages in cyber attack are:

1. Reconnaissance – The intruder selects a target device, researches it, and searches for vulnerabilities

2. Weaponization – Intruder uses a remote access malware weapon, such as a virus or worm, addressing a vulnerability

3. Delivery – Intruder transmits weapon to the target device, whether through e-mail attachments, websites, USB drives, etc.

4. Exploitation – Malware weapons program code to triggers the attack. This then takes action on target network to exploit vulnerability.

5. Installation – Malware weapon installs access points for the intruder to use.

6. Command and Control – Malware then enables intruder to have “hands on the keyboard” persistent access to the target network, also enabling future attacks.

Any device that connects to the internet is a potential target, security cameras, toys, TV’s, wearables, and even fridges.  They often have little or no security system, making step 2 of the kill chain rather easy.

Prevention is better than cure

2Gen protected


You May Also Like...


Get the Latest tech News

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest tech and security news